Added to cart

St. Elias GTX product photo

St. Elias GTX
Bungee Cord/Neutral Gray

$199.99 USD


Cart subtotal: ( Items)

View Cart
×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

MEN'S BACKPACKING BOOTS

St. Elias GTX

$199.99 USD MSRP

St. Elias GTX product photo
  • St. Elias GTX product photo
  • St. Elias GTX product photo
  • St. Elias GTX product photo
  • St. Elias GTX product photo
  • St. Elias GTX product photo
  • St. Elias GTX product photo
  • St. Elias GTX product photo

MEN'S BACKPACKING BOOTS

St. Elias GTX

$199.99 USD MSRP

ST ELIAS, GTX, BUNGEE/GRAY Mens is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 57.
  • y_2017, m_12, d_14, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_57
  • loc_en_US, sid_07162, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_vasque

Advanced midsole technology delivers a boot supportive enough for the most technical trails while focusing on excellent step in comfort and minimal break in time.

Bungee Cord/Neutral Gray
Bungee Cord/Neutral Gray

MEN'S Medium: 7 | 7.5 | 8 | 8.5 | 9 | 9.5 | 10 | 10.5 | 11 | 11.5 | 12 | 13 | 14
MEN'S Wide: 8 | 8.5 | 9 | 9.5 | 10 | 10.5 | 11 | 11.5 | 12 | 13
SIZE CHART
(ALSO IN WOMEN'S SIZES)

SIZE CHART
(ALSO IN WOMEN'S SIZES)
Please select your size
  • OVERVIEW
  • CONSTRUCTION
WHAT'S IT FOR
  • Lightweight backpacking
  • Backpacking
BENEFITS
  • Out-of-the-box comfort
  • Conformable outsole
  • Lightweight
FEATURES
  • GORE-TEX® with Performance Comfort Technology
  • Molded Rubber Toe Cap
STATS
  • WEIGHT : 3 lbs. 1 oz. (1378g)
  • LAST  : Summit
  • UPPER  : 2.3mm Waterproof Nubuck Leather
  • FOOTBED  : Dual Density EVA
  • MIDSOLE  : TPU Shank, A.T.C. (All Terrain Compound) Midsole with EVA Cushioning Pods
  • OUTSOLE  : Vasque Exclusive Vibram® Frontier with XSTrek Compound
UPPER

High quality 2.3mm waterproof oiled nubuck with stitch-in molded rubber toe cap and all metal lacing hardware provides durability and longevity. GORE-TEX® waterproof membrane keeps the foot dry and comfortable.

SOLE

Vasque’s proprietary Vibram® Frontier sole is molded with XSTrek compound and is designed to minimize rubber without sacrificing traction, for an exceptionally light sole. The A.S.E. midsole has the lightness of EVA with the durability and abrasion resistance of polyurethane. Conformable EVA pods in the heel and forefoot deliver running shoe-like comfort as well as allowing the outsole to conform around irregularities in the trail. The sole system was designed to maximize efficiency of walking gait and user comfort.

Rated 4 out of 5 by from V JAM eyelets metal fatigue The V JAM eyelets (3rd set from top) bend back if lace is not seated and have to be bent back into proper position causing the metal to fatigue and crack. I expect them to break.
Date published: 2016-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable and light. A little tight on the toes I owned 2 pair of Merrell shoes/boots, each of them had fallen apart in less than 4 months with light use. The shoes the sole literally came off, and the boots the sole came off the toe. I've used the Vasque boots for 6 months on rough terrain. They are just rock solid boots. I have to agree with others that the eyelits just tear up the laces, but laces are cheap so its not such a big deal. The toe box is a little tight. I had to move up half a size so that I could give me toes some room. Even though its a larger size it fits well. I have very few problems with my toes in the larger size. So its possible the boots just run a bit small, however this seems to be a common complaint. I've had rubbing on my pinky toe before, but never any serious blisters.
Date published: 2016-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My Narrow heal! This is my first pair of Vasque hikers. Have yet to do anything more than an initial walk the dog in the park. Love the quality and feel of the boot. All parts of the boot are very comfortable, however I have a narrow heal Can you recommend the best way to address the fit concern only in this area? I have worn out my previous hikers in the heal as well!
Date published: 2015-12-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good boots with one major flaw These boots are great in that they feel like running shoes but with the added support and rugged build of a boot. The problem is that the stiff rubber toe cap they designed covers all the way around the toes and makes the fit narrow. They fit like steel toe boots but unlike a proper steel toe boot that only covers the tips of your toes, these wrap all the way around and cause rubbing and blisters. It wouldn't happen if they used a smaller toe cap or just leather which would naturally flex with your foot.
Date published: 2015-11-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Constructed poorly I have these boots a couple days and lost an eyelet each and every day. Local cobbler's comment was "very poor design"
Date published: 2015-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Third pair is much improved. My first pair of Vasque boots - 2012 - were defective - since the soles split after one year (around 200 miles) of use. REI replaced them - no questions asked. The second pair had the exact same problem in 2014 and once again REI replaced them, this time with St. Elias GTX boots. I am happy to say the soles are much improved. After a season of hard use the soles are quite intact. Unfortunately, as many others have pointed out, the eyelets are murder on laces. Buy extras when you buy the boots! Fit overall is good but the toe box is a bit small for my wide feet. Still, I have never found a more comfortable boot overall than this style.
Date published: 2015-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good Solid boot I hike over 8 miles virtually every day in the Texas hill country. Granite, ground granite, loose rocks and very abrasive. Tread wear is very important to me, especially when spending $150+ for boots. Tread wear has been good logging over 850 miles and still has usable tread. Traction on wet rocks is a trade off for high wearing tread. Traction is good with the exception of wet rocks. Water proof, not really, water resistant would be a better description. I have switched to more of a water proof boot for the wet days I hike. They are hot in the summer, just ordered a pair of Vasque Breeze in hopes of a cooler walk and still high ware, don't know the answers on that yet. They do eat shoe laces, the metal lace holders chew up laces in not time. Overall I am very satisfied, very good quality and they last. Still trying to find the perfect boot for comfort, traction and ware, hopefully the Breeze will do the trick. Staying with Vasque brand because of the quality.
Date published: 2015-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent construction, fit, durability, and value, but mean to laces I'm very happy with these boots. The fit is excellent, the soles have good traction, and the construction is very durable. I broke them in and then took them to Corsica to complete the GR20 -- a very rough and rocky route of over 100 miles. They didn't look new anymore, but there was no wear or cuts on the leather. Nor did my feet have any blisters. I just returned from six days in the Wind River range in Wyoming and they performed beautifully there, as well. One note (noted by other reviewers): The eyelets are very mean to the boot laces. The laces and eyelets should work as a team to keep the lacing tight and to maintain the fit. These eyelets are either poorly designed or there's a quality control issue. The lace paths should be smooth, but they are sharp. I had less than 125 miles on the boots by the time both laces had broken in Corsica.
Date published: 2015-08-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Size questions Hi, I'm usually a size 7 in a sneaker and I bought a size 8 in these boots.Wearing them for the first time, I went on a 5 mile day hike in them yesterday and got two massive blisters.Pinky toe on my slightly bigger foot was rubbing up against the outside of the toe box and also has a blister. It seems like a more narrow shoe. I'm wondering if I need to continue to wear them and break them in, or if I have the wrong shoe/size. Vasque any suggestions?
Date published: 2015-08-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ripped lace, in 3 weeks?? The boots feel great, but a lace broke after 3 weeks, I hadn't even worn them on a trail yet as I was breaking them in!! Highly disappointed!! The boots were breaking in nicely and when I went to take them out on a hike the lace broke. No trail wear or anything. Goodness...
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sizing issue bought a pair and sizing is off. Normally buy the model 7166 ( which has been discontinued)at an 8 wide and always fit perfectly with enough room for thick socks and a liner(insole) with more cushing. Bought 8 wide in the st elias and its liner went flat as paper in first 25 miles of a 10 day 132 mile backpacking hike. There was no room for a differnt insole ( liner). Plus the angle from the toe to outside of boot is narrow. Toes took a real beating. Exchanged them for a different boot. The shoelaces broke at 57 miles. Changed to para cord. When exchanging them had to go to 9 wide to have enough room. The boot did great on water crossings and rain. Construction was great also.
Date published: 2015-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great to be back on the trail After many years out of the backpacking/hiking habit I fell back on an old favorite, Vasque, to meet my footwear needs. After trying several options at my local outfitter I found the St Elias to be my favorite. They felt comfortable and secure right out of the box. Probably a bit of nostalgia too. If you are reading this review as part of your purchase decision making, please take note of the negatives in the other reviews. Ticky tack stuff about laces. I've had mine for a year with plenty of miles and no problems. The rest are probably related to poor fit or inadequate break-in. I would say these boots took a long time to break-in. Many hikes of increasing length, varying terrain and sometimes pain mostly caused by pressure points. Realize they are fairly rigid compared to the mesh style boots and the leather is going to need some sweat and time to form to the shape of your foot, or in my case boney ankles. That being said, these boots have gotten me through the SoCal 6-pack and I just returned from a 12 day Sierra backpack putting many miles on my boots over some tough terrain. Nothing but praise, never a problem with my feet. With diligence and patience these boots will not disappoint you.
Date published: 2015-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rugged and comfortable After a winter of snowshoeing and hiking with my first Vasque boots (ultradry Snow Junkie) I got a pair of St Elias. With about two weeks of urban break-in use, I used them for a week of hiking in Shenandoah. The quality, comfortableness, and ruggedness of these boots is very high and I was very satisfied. I waterproofed them with Snow Seal and they held up very well including one very wet day with several wide stream fordings. Yes they did finally get soaked that day but I think that was from water over the top. One question for Vasques: My right foot is a tad shorter than my left. Never noticed a difference with the Snow Junkie but sometimes do with the St Elias - perhaps they run a little longer? Any suggestions on how to address this ? With the right sock combination its usually fine but I wonder if there is an insert or something that might help with lighter socks.
Date published: 2015-04-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from They were great Loved these boots for hiking. Used them in all types of weather and locations from hiking in subzero weather in the snow to deep jungle and tropical rain forests. I would have recommended them to anyone until I took a couple month military deployment and left them packed in my closet. On returning I broke out my boots and noticed the soles were split completely through. The uppers are incredible and perfect for the types of terrain I hike. If only they had better soles.
Date published: 2015-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Narrow, short and hard on boot strings Hey I have been buying Vasque boots for about 10 years now, This pair seems to be narrower than previous boots, and a little shorter. I have had them for 4 months now and am now using my fourth set of laces, this forth set is actually 550 cord as I am not in USA for now. I am going to try leather laces when I get back home. The laces fray and break on both the fourth and third eyelet from the toe. I hope they fix these problems soon as Vasque boots are all I have worn for the last 10 yrs at work and home. If I have shoes on they are Vasque unless I am in the gym.
Date published: 2015-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from mink oil Great boots, however I put mink oïl on the leather and the color of my bungee/gray boots darken seriously. Should be avoided. I'm not sure mink oil on gore-tex boots are good, I hope not to have damaged my boots. Great quality, fit quite small and unless you have a really narrow feet, wide size is recommended.
Date published: 2015-03-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wide Feet Beware! These are well crafted boot from the look and ware. But the new wide version is not the same as all the previous boots I have bought. I purchase About 4-5 pairs a year for my self and they have been very comfortable. I wear these boot 7 days week and over 12 hours a day. This newest manufacturing of boot are narrower than the predecessors. Considering the summit version of their boot hope that the lass has not changed to up hold the wider fit. The summit seems to fit better but miss the full toe rubber cover to protect the leather upper.
Date published: 2015-02-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great boot - narrower toe box Even at a 12W boot size, the toe box crowded my toes to the point of a pinch blister under the pinky toe on a 10 day 65 mile breakin trip -- no weight on the back either. The boots are well suited to cool and cold weather hiking, but summer hiking they do not breathe as well as hoped, leaving very damp feet. When using these I will plan to bring at least one more pair of socks. The metal lace cleats are well constructed, but create high wear on laces. Be prepared - bring a spare set of laces with you, or start your trek with new laces. The 'grippiness' of the cleats is much appreciated - the boots do not require adjusting during the day and the laces do not slip. But they do tear up laces! Outstanding durability and comfort otherwise - after 65 miles, they show no wear other than normal scuffing. I can easily see these going for years and years -- if they fit you properly.
Date published: 2014-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Boot I got these Vasque boots for my birthday after loving a previously used all-leather pair. I could not be happier. The fit, style, and comfort of the St. Elias are all top notch, and I would recommend this boot to anyone.
Date published: 2014-06-13
  • y_2017, m_12, d_14, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_57
  • loc_en_US, sid_07162, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_vasque

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE

Please enter a valid email address

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×

Kids Footwear Size Comparison Chart For Most Common International Systems

  US EU UK CM
CHILDREN 10 27 9 16.5
  11 28 10 17
  12 30 11 18
  13 31 12 19
YOUTH 1 32 13 20
  2 33 1 20.5
  3 34 2 21
  4 35 3 22
  5 37 4 23
  6 38 5 24
×

Footwear Size Comparison Chart For Most Common International Systems

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
  4 33.5 1.5   21
  4.5 34 2   21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5   43.5 9.5 28.5  
11   44 10 29  
11.5   45 10.5 29.5  
12   46 11 30  
13   47 12 31  
14   48 13 32  
15   49 14 33  
16   50 15 34  
×

WHERE TO BUY YOUR
St. Elias GTX

You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

BUY ONLINE

Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.


FIND A STORE

Please call ahead to see if your favorite style is available!

FIND A STORE
×