Added to cart

St. Elias GTX product photo

St. Elias GTX
Slate Brown/Beluga

$199.99 USD


Cart subtotal: ( Items)

View Cart
×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

MEN'S BACKPACKING BOOTS

St. Elias GTX

$199.99 USD MSRP

St. Elias GTX product photo
  • St. Elias GTX product photo
  • St. Elias GTX product photo
  • St. Elias GTX product photo
  • St. Elias GTX product photo
  • St. Elias GTX product photo
  • St. Elias GTX product photo
  • St. Elias GTX product photo

MEN'S BACKPACKING BOOTS

St. Elias GTX

$199.99 USD MSRP

ST ELIAS, GTX, SLATE BRN/BELUG Mens is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 54.
  • y_2017, m_11, d_17, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_54
  • loc_en_US, sid_07160, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_vasque

Advanced midsole technology delivers a boot supportive enough for the most technical trails while focusing on excellent step in comfort and minimal break in time.

Slate Brown/Beluga
Slate Brown/Beluga

MEN'S Medium: 7 | 7.5 | 8 | 8.5 | 9 | 9.5 | 10 | 10.5 | 11 | 11.5 | 12 | 13 | 14
MEN'S Narrow: 9 | 9.5 | 10 | 10.5 | 11 | 11.5 | 12 | 13
MEN'S Wide: 8 | 8.5 | 9 | 9.5 | 10 | 10.5 | 11 | 11.5 | 12 | 13
SIZE CHART
(ALSO IN WOMEN'S SIZES)

SIZE CHART
(ALSO IN WOMEN'S SIZES)
Please select your size
  • OVERVIEW
  • CONSTRUCTION
WHAT'S IT FOR
  • Lightweight backpacking
  • Backpacking
BENEFITS
  • Out-of-the-box comfort
  • Conformable outsole
  • Lightweight
FEATURES
  • GORE-TEX® with Performance Comfort Technology
  • Molded Rubber Toe Cap
STATS
  • WEIGHT : 3 lbs. 1 oz. (1378g)
  • LAST  : Summit
  • UPPER  : 2.3mm Waterproof Nubuck Leather
  • FOOTBED  : Dual Density EVA
  • MIDSOLE  : A.T.C. (All Terrain Compound) Midsole with EVA Cushioning Pods, TPU Shank
  • OUTSOLE  : Vasque Exclusive Vibram® Frontier with XSTrek Compound
UPPER

High quality 2.3mm waterproof oiled nubuck with stitch-in molded rubber toe cap and all metal lacing hardware provides durability and longevity. GORE-TEX® waterproof membrane keeps the foot dry and comfortable.

SOLE

Vasque’s proprietary Vibram® Frontier sole is molded with XSTrek compound and is designed to minimize rubber without sacrificing traction, for an exceptionally light sole. The A.S.E. midsole has the lightness of EVA with the durability and abrasion resistance of polyurethane. Conformable EVA pods in the heel and forefoot deliver running shoe-like comfort as well as allowing the outsole to conform around irregularities in the trail. The sole system was designed to maximize efficiency of walking gait and user comfort.

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cheap Hooks Kill This Boot The boot is great in many ways, but the lacing hooks bend and get caught on objects. They grow brittle once bent and are reminiscent of a box store purchase. I should have known better and bought lace-up from the floor up. They are rugged and durable in all other respects, but they are only a year old, so we'll see... They run thin so I got a wide.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Laces laces Great all around backpacking boots. Treated them w rain & snow and they are darn near waterproof. uT be sure and buy extra laces or some para-cord as the eyelets EAT laces like no other. You'd think product testing would have caught this but small price to pay for an otherwise good pair of boots I guess...
Date published: 2017-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots I've got a narrow foot, and after years of searching for and buying almost fits (everything comes in a wide but seldom a narrow) I came across these. Have had them 2 1/2 years and love them. Were them for work, hiking in the Rockies and for casual. The fit is great and they are comfortable. Except the soles, they show little wear and the stitching and seams are still strong, They cradle my foot and hold the arch. My feet don't ache after a 5-10 mile trek like they used to (no matter the terrain). The only thing I don't like - this boot comes in the Slate Brn/Belug and the Bungee Cord/Neutral, but only the slate comes in the Narrow width. I'm buying a second pair.
Date published: 2017-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boot ever Three continents, best boot ever. Dry yet breathable and excellent traction. I use the wide fitting and its perfect for me. I hope they keep making them!
Date published: 2017-01-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not right for me but nicely built My review shouldn't reflect on Vasque because everyones feet are different. I bought these coming from another brand that had no break in time. I saw them on OutdoorGearLab and they were the highest rated boot. They are nicely built but I instantly noticed the fit was odd. I usually wear a size 9.5 to 10 depending on the brand. The was too tight so I went with the 10W. They were pretty good in the store but were clearly going to need a lot of time to break in. Not being used to such a stiff boot I was slightly nervous about buying something that wasn't perfect out of the box. I bought them at Eastern Mountain Sports and I should've gone somewhere with a better return policy. After breaking them in for a couple of days it wasn't going well. I tried aftermarket footbeds and different lacing techniques. Some things worked better than others but nothing really worked well enough. The first set of lugs near the toes dig in to the top of my feet causing a lot of pain and my heel doesn't stay in place. I wish I knew they would stretch like they did because I'm sure another size would've worked for me. My recommendation is to buy these or any boots from a store with a return policy that lets you actually use them for their intended use before exchanging them. I'm out $200 now. I wish I went to a different store now so I could exchange these for another size or style but I'm stuck. Vasque is a highly respected brand and I was excited when I brought these home.
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm getting a new pair. I got my first pair spring of 2014. I have worn them on many hikes per month for three years. With the exception of one time stepping in a creek that was to deep my feet have always stayed dry. Very comfortable, long lasting. Among the best boots I have had.
Date published: 2016-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good fit on wide size Bought this shoe at REI. I wear a EEE shoe. I was surprised how well it fits. What I really like is that it opens wide for easy foot insertion. No need for a pull strap. Wore for a week right out of the box. Wish they came in steel toe for work. Hope they last for years..
Date published: 2016-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boot Just wore them for a 7 day trek on the West Coast Trail on Vancouver Island. Essentially rainforest, ocean and mountains. There was lots of mud. These boots were amazing. Great grip an many different types of surfaces, the wicking was great, my boots were a bit moist after an 8 hour hike through mud, etc (had gators on), but were great to hike the next day. One of the best pieces of equipment I bought.
Date published: 2016-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable while hiking, laces broke, twice. The boots are rugged and stand up well for full day hikes and bushwacking. Driving in them is uncomfortable as the toebox is too narrow for me, but I'm not bothered by it while actually hiking. My major complaint with these are the laces. Within a few uses the outer lace had completely ripped exposing the inner portion of the lace, making them impossible to tie. I have had to replace the laces twice in the year I've been using them.
Date published: 2016-09-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't last long It takes a good bit to break these boots in, but once that was done I absolutely loved them. they fit great, become insanely comfortable, and look really good with a pair of jeans around town sometimes too. Sadly, yesterday morning I was working in wet conditions, and sure enough, there was a hole in the gortex. So my entire ten hour shift my foot was soaking wet. Normally, I don't write reviews. Given I spent over $200 on these boots to avoid anything like this, I think I should have gotten more than 9 months out of them ( 5 of those months it was too hot to wear them!)
Date published: 2016-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keys to a good fit I have owned my boots for about a month now and put over 200 miles on them. I have to say they are very comfortable right from the start. I think they are great boots. Listed below are some keys to a good fit: • Buy the boot large 1/2 to 1 full size bigger • Use thicker socks • V-jam eyelets (3rd from top) are great ; they allow you to lock in the lower boot tightness independently from the top laces of the boot . You have infinite ways to adjust the fit accordingly. Remember to take of your boots and they will take care of you. Hope you enjoy your boots, they are definitely worth it.
Date published: 2016-09-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from ehhhh I'm a field biologist. I hike roughly 60 miles a week. These boots have only held up for 5 months. Not impressed. I will be taking them back. Probably will never buy vasque again after this.
Date published: 2016-09-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Need a pair for my hands! i do a lot of scrambling on my hikes and forays into the west coast mountains. I love the boots and it's one of the rare boots where a wide actually feels both wide and deep in the toe area. Grip is very good on dry substrate and pretty good on wet. About as good as I have had. Now, I just need a pair for my hands and I'd be flying up those last few hundred yards to the summit!
Date published: 2016-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Trail Hiking Boots..... This is my first pair of Vasque Hiking boots, and I found out about them through reading trusted reviews from serious hikers who pay for their own gear. I am a weekend trail and off-road hiker for the most part. However, I use these boots for a lot more than hiking, they are just that comfortable. These boots are as expected, and I expected a a lot. They are well contructed and hug your ankles the way you need on and off trail. The Vibram soles are perfect as always. The boot is extremely comfortable on and off trail and is confidence expiring. The look is simple and all function, non of the "future-tech iboot" look of competitors. Fit. The fit is exceptional, with minimal wear in time. Tons of support without being suffocating. *I would strongly recommend getting a half size up for most people. I have read a lot of complaints about the "toe box" The thing that a lot of people don't seem to realize is that any purpose built boot will not fit everyone. These boots are a slimmer more "European" fit, and that's what my feet are. I realize that it's convenient buying things on-line, but I suggest that a pair of specialty shoes be purchased in a good store where you can ensure your feet fit the style of the shoe.
Date published: 2016-07-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from What did you do to my boot? I have been buying the 7160 m boots in a 8.5 every year for 8 years. My pair manufacted in 10/14 fit and worked great. When I Put on my pair manufacted in 9/15 they were narrow and short. Killed my feet and I went back to my old ones. Vasque definitely changed something with the construction of this boot. I can't wear these any more. Please help!!
Date published: 2016-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 18 miles right out of the box Received them on Monday and did a 18 mile dayhike to Snowmass Lake on Wednesday. Moderate rocky trail was smoothed out by these boots for this 63 year old 200 lb man. Ordered 1/2 size larger and they were a perfect fit. Heel and ankle support was great and toe box was good for my slightly wide foot. The lacing setup allows some flexibility to adjust the fit. Can't wait for next week's hikes!
Date published: 2016-07-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Major comfort issues I am a longtime owner of Vasque Breeze boots, and decided to try a more durable Vasque boot in the St. Elias. I broke these in and then took these on an 8-day, 120 kilometers hike and stopped wearing them after several days and put on the only other thing I had: sneakers. I literally could not walk in these boots. My feet, which are narrow to normal, were painfully sore, and had two blisters in each foot. They generally never fit right, even though the size is correct. I tried them again on a subsequent, shorter trip and and the pain returned. More minor, but worth noting the laces don't hold firmly, and the tongue also rubbed against my high ankle. Very disappointed.
Date published: 2016-07-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good boot but not waterproof Took about a week for them to break in, during that week I wanted to throw them in the fire and just walk barefoot. Now they're ok but definitely not the most comfortable boot ive owned. Traction is sub par, slippery on wet rocks so be careful. Waterproof? NO. Water resistant? For about 10 minutes of walking through wet grass. Even after treating the boots water comes pouring in and my feet and socks are soaked. The leather is susceptible to cuts and tears more so than any other leather boot ive owned. Just walking through brush in the woods has put some pretty deep gashes in the sides of the boot. Other than that. They are a good looking boot.
Date published: 2016-05-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Narrow Toe Box Unfortunately, I mail ordered these expecting them to fit similar to my previous Vasque backpacking boots. I bought these boots in the wide width in size nine. This is the size boot I normally wear. I wear two socks when I hike, thin liners and a regular hiking sock. I've worn these boots on two short backpacking hikes and they won't get a third chance. They seem to be too narrow in the toe box for my feet. The rubber toe cap is very rigid and has no give to it. It puts pressure on my little toes. It is obvious that these boots are too narrow for my feet. I was glad to get them off my feet. I've had Vasque backpacking boots before and have not had this problem in the past with them. I'm planning to try the Summit model which do not have the external rubber wrap, but they are hard to find in a store close to where I live to try on prior to purchase.
Date published: 2016-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thru-hiked the AT in these I picked up these boots in MA on a southbound semi-winter thru hike of the AT. I wore them every single day from MA all the way to Springer mountain in Georgia (roughly 1500miles). First the cons: 1. They run small for my very wide feet. I usually wear a Mens 9.5W in everyday life, but for these boots, plus the foot swelling of thru hiking, I needed a 10.5W. 2. They Devour laces. in 1500 miles I went through 5 pairs of laces on the left boot, and 8 on the right. 3. The traction is not as great as a Vibram megagrip compound is (which is what my trail runners from ME to MA were). You still get enough traction for wet rock gripping, but you can feel the difference. 4. The insoles begin to lose their black fabric overcoating after 1000 miles. This is mostly a cosmetic concern, but little black chunks of fabric end up all over your socks at the end of the day. 5. The leather needs care of some kind. At about mile 1300 the leather became very stiff, and began to crack and pull away from itself on both boots in between eyelet 1&2. 6. They have like 0 grip on ice Alrighty now for the pros: 1. These have got to be the most durable boots on the planet. After 1500 miles and 0 care or cleaning they are still 100% functional. I wish I had started with these boots in ME and I have no doubt that they would have easily gone the entire 2200 miles of the AT with no problems besides lace changes. They still have great tread depth and are fully waterproof. 2. They only get more comfortable. After 1500 miles these things have so perfectly molded to my feet (or maybe my feet molded to them who knows) that they are the most comfortable shoe i own. 3. They breathe amazingly well. When I first switched from trail runners to these boots I was worried about giving up the extreme breathability of trail runners, but after 1 week I came to the conclusion that you really don't get that much more breathability from trail runners vs these highly breathable boots. 4. These boots are amazingly waterproof even after many many miles. i cannot count how many times you have to rock hop across streams on the AT many times i'd slip and partially dunk my foot, and as long as i was still above the flood line my feet stayed perfectly dry. 5. On the two occasions my feet did get soaked inside these boots (both times due to failure of my gaiters not the boots) they weren't soaked for very long. These boots dry incredibly fast for an all leather backpacking boot. I could not recommend or sing the praises of these super durable super comfortable boots any higher. I have no doubt that these boots saved me from countless potential ankle and toe injuries while hiking through the rocky portions of the AT, but never felt like a burden on the easy dirt stretches. I have photos of what they look like after 1500mi, but cannot post them at this time.
Date published: 2016-04-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Might be good for walking in the park I have had these boots for less than 2 months. I have worn them for work to break them in, pretty comfortable. I used these boots for a 40 mile hike on the North Country Trail in WI. After day one, an eyelet in a crucial spot popped off for no reason. I hit some snow and typical trail puddles, boots leaked, not waterproof. Wet feet and faulty boots after 10 miles. Smartwool socks save the day.
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Feet say "yes" I am a diabetic. I only have two feet and I plan to keep them. I walk three miles a day on dirt and gravel roads. I put over 3,000 miles on my old boots. My feet said enough. I purchased these this morning as at klineschmites boots .I wore them all day and then walked 3 miles in them this evening. My feet said I was good for at least 5. My feet feel great.The boots fit excellent. If my feet are happy then I'm happy. These boots will also double as a motorcycle boot for me. The Gore-Tex will keep the water out on long rides
Date published: 2016-03-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from poor quality laces or sharp eyelet? I bought my Vasque boot about 4 mouth ago and both laces broke. In fact they were cut by eyelets 3 or 4 of the boots so I had to change them! I don't use them in hiking activities. I wear them as a every day shoe. They are confortable but the poor quality of the laces or maybe the eyelet are sharp but it cut my laces. So for a more than 200$ boots, I thing this should not arrive.
Date published: 2016-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boot, wonky laces, and narrow toe box Overall the boot is great. Minimal break in time (wearing around the house and shorter 1-2 miles suited just fine). Laces frayed rather easily but that is a common concern and one easily remedied. I'm glad I jumped up a half-size for the narrow toe box. At the risk of stating the obvious, wear good wool socks when you try them on at the store.
Date published: 2016-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Boot! This boot is great! Very comfortable and sturdy. It breathes pretty well, but it's hard to find a waterproof boot that breathes well but this one was quite breathable. I hiked in this boot for about 80 mi at Philmont in Cimarron, NM in summer of 15. They held up great after over 125 miles except one small problem, the metal eyelets cause a lot of friction on the laces and caused them to break. The laces are a lot like paracord in that there is the outer casing and then an inner core running through the casing. The friction cut through the case like layer and all that was left was the core cord. But other than that, this boot exceeded my expectations! Definitely recommend.
Date published: 2016-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable These boots were comfortable the minute I slipped them on. I was a bit nervous about ordering them online, but I got lucky with a perfect fit! My only concerns are: 1) Will the puffy portions near the top last very long? Seems like that would tear easily on a few snags. 2) are there any after market insoles for this boot? I have a touch of plantar fasciitis and require more support in the heel area. The boots have been comfortable so far, but I'm afraid on a long trek, like what I'm planning this spring, this would be an issue and lead to pain. What's the best insole? Been using Vasque boots for 20 yrs. Hiked 121mi at Philmont, NM years ago, my Vasque boots kept my feet in shape!
Date published: 2016-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very good very good shoes, I bought and use them after long time that I didn't use hiking shoes and it was excellent.
Date published: 2016-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from V JAM eyelets metal fatigue The V JAM eyelets (3rd set from top) bend back if lace is not seated and have to be bent back into proper position causing the metal to fatigue and crack. I expect them to break.
Date published: 2016-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable and light. A little tight on the toes I owned 2 pair of Merrell shoes/boots, each of them had fallen apart in less than 4 months with light use. The shoes the sole literally came off, and the boots the sole came off the toe. I've used the Vasque boots for 6 months on rough terrain. They are just rock solid boots. I have to agree with others that the eyelits just tear up the laces, but laces are cheap so its not such a big deal. The toe box is a little tight. I had to move up half a size so that I could give me toes some room. Even though its a larger size it fits well. I have very few problems with my toes in the larger size. So its possible the boots just run a bit small, however this seems to be a common complaint. I've had rubbing on my pinky toe before, but never any serious blisters.
Date published: 2016-01-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My Narrow heal! This is my first pair of Vasque hikers. Have yet to do anything more than an initial walk the dog in the park. Love the quality and feel of the boot. All parts of the boot are very comfortable, however I have a narrow heal Can you recommend the best way to address the fit concern only in this area? I have worn out my previous hikers in the heal as well!
Date published: 2015-12-27
  • y_2017, m_11, d_17, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_54
  • loc_en_US, sid_07160, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_vasque

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE

Please enter a valid email address

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×

Kids Footwear Size Comparison Chart For Most Common International Systems

  US EU UK CM
CHILDREN 10 27 9 16.5
  11 28 10 17
  12 30 11 18
  13 31 12 19
YOUTH 1 32 13 20
  2 33 1 20.5
  3 34 2 21
  4 35 3 22
  5 37 4 23
  6 38 5 24
×

Footwear Size Comparison Chart For Most Common International Systems

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
  4 33.5 1.5   21
  4.5 34 2   21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5   43.5 9.5 28.5  
11   44 10 29  
11.5   45 10.5 29.5  
12   46 11 30  
13   47 12 31  
14   48 13 32  
15   49 14 33  
16   50 15 34  
×

WHERE TO BUY YOUR
St. Elias GTX

You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

BUY ONLINE

Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.


FIND A STORE

Please call ahead to see if your favorite style is available!

FIND A STORE
×