Added to cart

Sundowner GTX product photo

Sundowner GTX
Jet Black

$219.99 USD


Cart subtotal: ( Items)

View Cart
×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

MEN'S BACKPACKING BOOTS

Sundowner GTX

$219.99 USD MSRP

Sundowner GTX product photo
  • Sundowner GTX product photo
  • Sundowner GTX product photo
  • Sundowner GTX product photo
  • Sundowner GTX product photo
  • Sundowner GTX product photo
  • Sundowner GTX product photo
  • Sundowner GTX product photo

MEN'S BACKPACKING BOOTS

Sundowner GTX

$219.99 USD MSRP

SUNDOWNER GTX, JET BLACK Mens is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 29.
  • y_2017, m_11, d_17, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_07128, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_vasque

When you imagine what a hiking boot should be, the Sundowner is the vision that comes to mind. The longevity and fan loyalty of this style is no fluke; the simplicity, function and elegance of this hiker may very well be boot nirvana.

MEN'S Medium: 7 | 7.5 | 8 | 8.5 | 9 | 9.5 | 10 | 10.5 | 11 | 11.5 | 12 | 13 | 14
MEN'S Wide: 8 | 8.5 | 9 | 9.5 | 10 | 10.5 | 11 | 11.5 | 12 | 13
SIZE CHART
(ALSO IN WOMEN'S SIZES)

SIZE CHART
(ALSO IN WOMEN'S SIZES)
Please select your size
  • OVERVIEW
  • CONSTRUCTION
WHAT'S IT FOR
  • Hiking
  • Backpacking
BENEFITS
  • Simplicity=Longevity
  • Breaks in to a near custom fit
FEATURES
  • S.B. Foot Leather tanned in the US
  • GORE-TEX® with Performance Comfort
  • Comfortable yet stable Polyurethane midsole
  • Cambered heel for efficient hiking stride
STATS
  • WEIGHT : 3 lbs. 3 oz. (1438g)
  • LAST  : Sundowner Classic
  • UPPER  : 2.4mm Waterproof Full Grain Leather
  • FOOTBED  : Molded Polyurethane
  • MIDSOLE  : Molded Polyurethane and TPU Shank
  • OUTSOLE  : Vasque Pyrenees
UPPER

One piece, USA-tanned, 2.4 mm S.B. Foot leather upper is the ultimate in durability and comfort. Less seams equal fewer hotspots and the longer you wear them, the more custom the fit becomes. A Gore-Tex® membrane protects from inclement conditions, and classic d-ring eyelets are tried and true and offer speed lacing. New for 2015, the Sundowner will be built around the original shaped last, for the classic fit so many have trusted on the trail.

SOLE

Once again, the Sundowner is offered in the original rubber traction sole with polyurethane midsole. This combination is a perfect blend of trail support and comfort for long miles. Vasque’s proprietary Pyrenees rubber sole takes direct design cues from the original, with aggressive lug pattern, excellent mud clearing and rockered heel for a natural foot transition on trails. The single density polyurethane midsole is coupled with a PU comfort footbed for excellent torsional structure for rough trails while offering great underfoot comfort for long days out.

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Italy These boots are ok. Not great but not bad. Why doesn't Vasque go back to the original design that made them famous? I would pay $400-500 for boots that were made in Italy. (That is apparently what it would cost for production in Italy.)Who would not? Those boots would be a wise investment. My last pair are over 20 years old. I would still be wearing them had my feet not grown. Also, why don't they bring back the original two tone color that made Sundowners so popular? So, now we are left with average boots in an average market. I wish they would go back to the original design, manufacturer, and color that made them famous. Those boots would be worth the cash and would score off the charts in satisfaction. So please Vasque give us what we want....the original Italian hand made boots that made you famous.
Date published: 2017-03-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nearly impossible to break in I want to love these boots; I've heard nothing but good things about them, and I spent a lot of money for them. I've had these boots for three weeks, and have worn them every day. I am just now finally at the point where the pain isn't so bad I have to take them off. They have scraped and bruised my left ankle and the tops of both ankles so bad I'm at my wits end. I bought the Hawthorne leather, and it looks and feels like saddle leather. They creak and moan when I walk, and I despair that I will ever actually be able to hike in these boots. Maybe I just got a pair from a defective batch, but buying these Sundowners is one of the biggest mistakes I've ever made.
Date published: 2017-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Most Incredible Boots Ever Created! The most incredible boots ever created. Extremely durable, Rugged, Beautiful!
Date published: 2017-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Welcome Back! I purchased my first pair of two-tone Sundowners in the early 1990s and loved them. I wore them everywhere and put in a lot of trail time on them. After a good 5 years I ended up giving them to someone who needed a good pair of boots more than me with the thought of replacing them with a newer pair. However, I never really loved the succeeded models that were being produced and it appeared that the models previous to the current release lacked the quality and style that Vasque has been known for. When I saw this new make - "a return to the original" - I was really excited about them and bought a pair with some high hopes. I have had them now for 18 months and am very pleased with them. Vasque has done their homework and has re-produced a high-quality version of the Sundowner just like my first pair.
Date published: 2017-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fourth pair of Sundowners! Horray! Got a pair of Sundowners from my wife for Xmas. This will be my fourth pair. Been everywhere from Big Bend NP to Russia, and hold up great. I'm VERY happy you went back to the original style and construction, glad you are using the Red Wing leather, and have gone back to the original higher heel, and the sole with the heel ramp as opposed to the Chinese built model with the flat sole and the shorter Achilles tendon area with that awful skimpy leather. I'm attaching a picture of my beautiful new sundowners, and the pair they are replacing. They lasted for about five years, but you can see the leather around the ankle and tongue just plain wore through, I definitely prefer the return to the original design. However the new boots look just like the Italian made ones I remember fondly! I'm sure they will be great on the trail. Cheers and Happy Holidays.
Date published: 2016-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hello old friend!!! It's funny to see people talk about how the classic Sundowners are "ruined". These ARE the classic sundowners! For years I lamented the loss of the curved heel and classic sole for that flat abomination that has been with us since the late 90's... I have spent more time than one would think combing eBay for the right pair of classics... And just like that! Vasque brings them back! I bought a pair as soon as I saw em and they're just like having an old friend back!! Thank you Vasque for setting things right! They're firm and functional just like they used to be. I had given up on the sneaker feel of the recent boots but now I'm back!! Now if you could just bring back the old burgundy with tan accent that'd be swell!! Awesome boots! Comfortable out of the box and long lasting are mutually exclusive! Give em time folks!! These ARE the classic Sundowners!!
Date published: 2016-12-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Rock Hard Leather - A Big Disappointment I purchased my first pair of Sundowners in 1993 and days later hiked the Wind River Range in Wyoming without prior break in of those boots. The leather was soft and supple and they fit like a glove. Never once had a problem with blisters. They simply fit and were exceptionally comfortable. I purchased a replacement pair last year. They were made in China in September of 2014. The leather is rock hard and doesn't flex. The soles are like walking on 2x4's. They are extremely stiff and inflexible. Worse yet, the leather above the toes breaks toward the inside of the boot so it pinches the top of my toes. I've tried several times to make it flex upward and away from the top of my foot but the leather is too stiff. The leather at the top of the boot rubs my ankles because it has no give. It's just rock hard over the entire boot. I'm hesitant to try the "new improved" version, especially after sinking nearly $200 into this pair.
Date published: 2016-11-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nope, nope, nope. If it ain't broke don't fix it. So sad to see the wonderful Sundowners of the past be "improved" on. As a previous reviewer asked, "Why Vasque, why?"
Date published: 2016-10-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Why Vasque why? I am very disapointed Vasque, I have been a loyal customer since I first discovered your Sundowner classics in the mid 90's, and now I find out my favorite boots have met their demise, this is a sad day.
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The New (2015) Sundowners Rock! I've been waiting and watching to see when the quality of Vasque boots would finally be back. Well, they're back folks! I used to own what was called "waffle stompers" back in the 80's. They were serviceable, utilitarian at best, but I always wanted a pair of Vasque Sundowners and was envious of my friends who were lucky enough to have them. Well, today I am an active outdoorsman, hike casually and regularly ride a motorcycle, all of which I plan to use the boots for. To speak about the quality of the leather, the soles, the form and fit, I simply can't say enough. These boots are high quality and I look forward to years of using them. If you're like me and have been waiting for the return of the infamous Sundowner, rest assured they're back!
Date published: 2016-07-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Same great look...not the same craftsmanship Owned a few pair of Sundowners in the Mid to late 90s - great boot that held up well traversing the swamps and trails of The UP...down to the most southern regions of Mexico...the fit and look improved w/age. Bought my last pair a few years ago and after one trip to the Rocky Mountain National Park ...left the leather shredded and beyond repair. Meh.
Date published: 2016-06-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not at all like the original Sundowners I bought a pair of Sundowners in the late '90's and backpacked Alaska, British Columbia, Mt Rainier Natl Park, parts of the AT and the PCT, all of the Ozark Highland Trail and many hundreds of miles in between. I loved those boots! Alas, the time came for new ones. Unfortunately, I paid about the same for the second pair but don't think the new ones will come close to the mileage the original one did.
Date published: 2016-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great All-Around Boot I used the store locator on this website and found a retailer 50 miles from where I live in Vermont. I wanted to try the boots on, rather than order them online and probably have to send them back to get a proper fit. Good thing, because while my feet measured 10 Medium in the store, the boots that actually fit were 10 1/2 Wide. Fortunately the store I visited had a good selection. On to the boot itself. Well made, handsome, substantial but not overly heavy. I wanted a fairly aggressive sole for the kinds of hiking I do: woods roads and paths, and sometimes slick granite. After just over a week of daily wear, including in the rain and on a 6-mile mountain hike, I'm happy with the traction, including on wet rock. The Goretex inner liner works well, and the fact that the boot is essentially made out of a single piece of leather further mitigates against water entry. I'm still breaking in the boots. There is some stiffness around the ankle that's a bit uncomfortable, but it is gradually lessening. In sum, this Vietnam-built version of the Sundowner is a great all-around hiking and recreational boot that's attractive enough to wear around town. I'm totally happy with my purchase.
Date published: 2016-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love this boot, but now need to look for something else. I've been using this boot for work over the last fifteen years, going through a pair about every five years. Even when the quality of the leather decreased, they were still ideal: Lightweight, waterproof, easy to clean, and with a durable sole. However, with recent change in the sole, I can't imagine they'll stand up to kicking a shovel all day. I'm hesitant to pay $200 for boot that won't stand up to heavy use. I hope I can find a pair with the previous sole. If not, goodbye old friend. If you plan to use these boots for hiking only, and they fit you well, I'm sure you'll love them.
Date published: 2016-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's all I wear. I purchased my first pair of Sundowners to use specifically for backpacking back in 1994. They quickly became my everyday shoe and continue to be 22 years later. Unless I am wearing a business suit or swim trunks, you will find Vasque Sundowners on my feet.
Date published: 2016-05-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not like the old ones Very stiff leather. Runs about a half size small and are very narrow. Despite what they say these are nothing like the old ones made in Italy.
Date published: 2016-04-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Move production Back to Italy. The vintage sundowners made in Italy were the best hiking boots of all time. Once production went to China, they never felt the same again. I've tried two pair of the Chinese sundowners over the years, and now I look for used Italian sundowners on eBay. Vasquez, why not take production back to Italy? Even if the boots end up costing twice as much, it would be better to spend more up front for quality than to have to keep replacing cheaply built boots. Your customers know the difference.
Date published: 2016-02-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from DISSAPOINTED The first pair I purchased 13 years ago were fantastic, however the recently purchased pair are horrible.. Not sure if I got a bad batch if that's even possible but im disappointed....
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THANK YOU VASQUE! I have been wearing Vasque boots since I mowed grass all summer long to buy a pair of Montanas back in 1983. My last pair of Sundowners was bought about 4 years ago and my first experience with the Chinese boot. I was very saddly dissapointed with the fit and feel of them. I didn't wear them long enough to have any damages as they just weren't comfortable. I then got a pair of Clarion GTX's They were completely differen't from the Clarions I had in the 90's but have nontheless been a good and comforable boot. When I found out about the "Re-Boot" of the Sundowner I IMEDIATELY bought a pair. After 2 and a half weeks of everyday wear the are breaking in nicely! AAAAAHHHH!!! My old friends are back! Although they are constructed in Vietnam, the leather is good ole' American Red Wing, and it shows! Thank you so much Vasque! Now is there any chance you will bring back the Skywalks? As I live in the Deep South a fabric and leather boot is better in the Summer time, but at anyrate I am THRILLED with the new Sundowners!
Date published: 2015-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 16 years of a great boot! I bought Sundowners in 1999 to go on Outward Bound hike. Still love them although its time to upgrade to a new pair. Love Vasque products.
Date published: 2015-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW... are they awesome My son's friend left at our house in Miami around Hurricane Andrew. He died in a tragic accident. We moved north in 1996 to Martin County. After the move I found these new looking Vasque Skywalk 7530 Gore-Tex Made in Italy... perfect fit 9 1/2 Wide (?). Sprayed them with boot deodorant and starting wearing them! Been doing outdoor yard chores, construction, etc. for two decades wearing these fantastic boots... fit like a glove, best ankle support/protection ever. I had to reglue soles using Liquid Plumber glue. I rub a little mink oil on them every couple weeks. NOW, the soles are nearly smooth on the toes... and lining is starting to fray a little... so, I went on line and found worn out models are asking $100 on E-bay. Hopefully the new Sundowner will be available soon!!
Date published: 2015-09-13
  • y_2017, m_11, d_17, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_07128, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_vasque

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE

Please enter a valid email address

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×

Kids Footwear Size Comparison Chart For Most Common International Systems

  US EU UK CM
CHILDREN 10 27 9 16.5
  11 28 10 17
  12 30 11 18
  13 31 12 19
YOUTH 1 32 13 20
  2 33 1 20.5
  3 34 2 21
  4 35 3 22
  5 37 4 23
  6 38 5 24
×

Footwear Size Comparison Chart For Most Common International Systems

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
  4 33.5 1.5   21
  4.5 34 2   21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5   43.5 9.5 28.5  
11   44 10 29  
11.5   45 10.5 29.5  
12   46 11 30  
13   47 12 31  
14   48 13 32  
15   49 14 33  
16   50 15 34  
×

WHERE TO BUY YOUR
Sundowner GTX

You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

BUY ONLINE

Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.


FIND A STORE

Please call ahead to see if your favorite style is available!

FIND A STORE
×