Added to cart

Free Gift also added to cart

St. Elias GTX product photo

St. Elias GTX
Bungee Cord/Neutral Gray

STYLE 7162

$199.99 USD


Cart subtotal: ( Items)

View Cart
×

Error

There was an error adding this item to your cart.

Please reload the page and try again.


×

MEN'S BACKPACKING BOOTS
STYLE 7162

St. Elias GTX

$199.99 USD MSRP

St. Elias GTX product photo
  • St. Elias GTX product photo
  • St. Elias GTX product photo
  • St. Elias GTX product photo
  • St. Elias GTX product photo
  • St. Elias GTX product photo
  • St. Elias GTX product photo
  • St. Elias GTX product photo

MEN'S BACKPACKING BOOTS
STYLE 7162

St. Elias GTX

$199.99 USD MSRP

ST ELIAS, GTX, BUNGEE/GRAY Mens is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 73.
  • y_2018, m_9, d_21, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_73
  • loc_en_US, sid_07162, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_vasque

Advanced midsole technology delivers a boot supportive enough for the most technical trails while focusing on excellent step in comfort and minimal break in time.

Bungee Cord/Neutral Gray
Bungee Cord/Neutral Gray

MEN'S Medium: 7 | 7.5 | 8 | 8.5 | 9 | 9.5 | 10 | 10.5 | 11 | 11.5 | 12 | 13 | 14
MEN'S Wide: 8 | 8.5 | 9 | 9.5 | 10 | 10.5 | 11 | 11.5 | 12 | 13
SIZE CHART
(ALSO IN WOMEN'S SIZES)

SIZE CHART
(ALSO IN WOMEN'S SIZES)
Please select your size
  • OVERVIEW
  • CONSTRUCTION
WHAT'S IT FOR
  • Lightweight backpacking
  • Backpacking
BENEFITS
  • Out-of-the-box comfort
  • Conformable outsole
  • Lightweight
FEATURES
  • GORE-TEX® with Performance Comfort Technology
  • Molded Rubber Toe Cap
STATS
  • WEIGHT : 3 lbs. 1 oz. (1378g)
  • LAST  : Summit
  • UPPER  : 2.3mm Waterproof Nubuck Leather
  • FOOTBED  : Dual Density EVA
  • MIDSOLE  : TPU Shank, A.T.C. (All Terrain Compound) Midsole with EVA Cushioning Pods
  • OUTSOLE  : Vasque Exclusive Vibram® Frontier with XSTrek Compound
UPPER

High quality 2.3mm waterproof oiled nubuck with stitch-in molded rubber toe cap and all metal lacing hardware provides durability and longevity. GORE-TEX® waterproof membrane keeps the foot dry and comfortable.

SOLE

Vasque’s proprietary Vibram® Frontier sole is molded with XSTrek compound and is designed to minimize rubber without sacrificing traction, for an exceptionally light sole. The A.S.E. midsole has the lightness of EVA with the durability and abrasion resistance of polyurethane. Conformable EVA pods in the heel and forefoot deliver running shoe-like comfort as well as allowing the outsole to conform around irregularities in the trail. The sole system was designed to maximize efficiency of walking gait and user comfort.

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unhappy with this product and customer service I wore these boots maybe 10-12 times. One of the eyelets ripped off completely. When I contacted customer service they gave me attitude and the run around. Due to the fact that it had been little over a year since I purchased the boots they were unwilling to do anything to fix them. It seems to me that a company that charges $200 for a hiking boot ought to stand behind their product and replace a ripped eyelet or send me a new boot.
Date published: 2018-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight, durable, and comfortable In addition to weekend hikes I am currently a bartender and I am on my feet for hours at a time. I own dozens of shoes to choose from, but My Vasque’s have become my go-to’s. I have owned for 2 years. Ow and the tread has held up well. Best boots for under $200 I’d say, and I found mine for half that price. I think I would want something more substantial for serious backpacking but for anything less, this is the pair.
Date published: 2018-03-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for wide feet Bought a pair of the size 10.5 wide this summer. When I tried them on in the store they felt a bit snug. I have a EE wide foot. I never tried wearing them again until the fall after about half hour my small toes began to ache. I had the boots widened at the shoe makers. They are barely tolerable now and I hope they will break in in time. They are a really nice looking boot. Bottom line is if you have a EE or wider foot I recommend not getting this boot.
Date published: 2018-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 5 years around 2,000 miles I bought my boots in 2013 at a RedWing retailer. The comfort and fit out of the box might be unparalleled for a leather backpacking boot. The fit seemed to me just a little bit narrow near the toe box, but it being a little narrow made the shoe feel like it fit well and was attached to your foot. I wore these on just about every terrain imaginable as I walked and hitch hiked across the US multiple times with a 45lb pack. Sand, rocks, water, concrete, grass, mud, and shopping mall floors were all conquered in these boots. They stayed dry. There were many times I was in the rain for days at a time without refuge from the rain. The boots are waterproof. They also dried quite quickly when they got wet on the inside. Did great in the sand. Even with the heat my feet stayed cool when they needed to be. The materials seemed to be quite breathable. I was able to use the original laces for the entire life of the boot. The eyelet system was slightly different than I was used to, but was nice. It holds the bottom in place with a locking eyelet, then you can lace the top. Kept my feet warm in the cold with the right socks. Broke one stitch on the leather near the heel. Wore the tread almost completely off. Without proper treatment the leather eventually cracked. Overall soft plush fit, very durable, long lasting, and quite functional (works in most conditions).
Date published: 2018-01-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from multiple malfunction Its been 3 days that I am the misfortune buyer of one of our pair of shoes (bought at Ushuaia at "vraie" store). usually I wear 41.5 but I took of 42 because the first two grommets of laces cut me off my blood's traffic. my purchase made in 42 I went to the nearest Park to try them for 3 days and here is the drama : the right shoe grommets cut me the circulation again and the "shield " that is on the front bottom of the friction on the two smallest toes generates blisters . On the left shoe, the two same problems that the right, but with in addition the part that holds the top of the right ankle there is a fold that come to irritate the top of the ankle and that makes me blisters of the blow. so I hasten to return to see the seller and he was sorry to tell me that after seeing contact with you to know the defects of the pair of shoes (i guess they didn't try tout contact you anymore) . he "tried" during his lunch break and he was sorry to tell me that everything is fine in the best world and he doesn't want to change the pair of shoes... what do we do now? I Hope you will fill conserned by my purchase . Yours faithfully .
Date published: 2018-01-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cheap Eyelet construction I owned these boots for a little over a year and the eyelets began seperating from the rivet backing. REI would not repair or exchange them because they were slightly over a year old.
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 1 pair for entire Te Araroa 3000km Incredibly comfortable boots. I thought I would have to switch halfway on the trail but outside of losing its waterproof ability at about 1700km in they were still comfortable and no problems with the sole. The laces they come with rip easily but the actual boot is great.Obviously when water goes above the shoe, water gets in, but when water was below the cusp, nice dry feet. Also disclaimer: I did use it on a very wet thru hike (literally walking through knee deep rivers and mud at multiple points) and had to dry them out in the sun and near fires. With proper care I'd probably still be on the first pair. Already bought my second pair.
Date published: 2018-01-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice Boots I find them comfortable with liner socks and thick merino socks on top. My left foot is slightly smaller than my right and have to wear this sick combo to Stop heal rub on the left foot. The lacing system isn’t the best, I find it very hard to get any fit using the laces which I have easily done in other boots and this for me is the only negative.
Date published: 2017-12-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not a good replacement for Wasatch GTX Prior to this model I ran the Wasatch GTX for years, actually burning through at least four pairs. Although they always had issues with vibram sole that came with that model, there were still a better boot. These were provided to me as a replacement for Wasatch GTX due to that issue. The sole on this boot is too soft. You can feel every rock under your feet and they don't provide good stability when side-hilling. The traction is also shallow and week. If you don't plan on getting off the trail, these may work for you.
Date published: 2017-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from They stand behind the product. I work outdoors in miserable climates and I have never owned pair of boots that could keep my feet warm my entire shift. These boots are supreme and when I had a minor issue that may or may not have been my own fault, customer service asked me to send them the old pair. Within a week I recieved a new pair that are even better than the original. Vasque is awesome.
Date published: 2017-11-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great boots if not for hooks Bought these boots last year. Five stars for comfort, insulation and style. I loved these boots. Within 2 months noticed lace hooks started to give. Few weeks later the hooks snapped from constantly bending back. If Vasque switched to solid molded hooks I'd consider buying again.
Date published: 2017-11-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid performer - Needs better wet traction I’ve owned the Vasque St. Elias GTX for 2 years and have put about 200 miles on them on weekend mountain hikes in the White Mountains of New Hampshire. This is a really nice boot and has served me very well. Some Pros and Cons: Pros: Very comfortable out of the box and leather only gets more comfortable with time. I have had no incidents whatsoever with a tight toebox or banging toes when going downhill. Excellent ankle support. I had a number of rolled ankle incidents with my Merell Moab boot which prompted my purchasing the Vasque. Since then, I have not had a single incident. Boots have been very waterproof. Goretex layer does a great job of keeping my feet dry even in stream crossings, spring mid and rain. When the leather seems to wet out, I have treated with Nikwax cleaner and tare proofing with success. Traction has been very good on dirt and mud trails as well as dry rock. I have been impressed by how well the boot keeps traction on dry granite slabs in the White Mountains. Durability has been good. boots are only now showing some signs of tread wear in the heel and some wear of the stitching near the toe. Plan to replace them in the spring. Lacing lock system is very secure. Cons: If there is one reason I would look for another boot, it is because of wet traction. I have taken numerous spills on wet granite slabs. I know that these are slippery anyway, but I feel these boots underperform badly on wet granite. Eyelets can pull out of boot. Early in the lifetime of my boot, an eyelet came out and I had to send them in for repair. No problem since then Eats laces. Seems as if I’m replacing laces regularly. Metal locking eyelets are sharp and saw through laces quickly. I think the boot weight is about average. The Merell’s I had were lighter but I have also had heavier boots in the past. I’d say this isn’t an issue for me.
Date published: 2017-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good after many miles I bought these boots at an REI garage sale (used), and I love'em so far. when I got them, the tag said they had about 50 miles on them. they still look very nice and are broken in well. My feet, by chance, fit perfect in them. They are still 100% water proof as well. Nearly perfect tread left too. the only negative is that my toes get a little cold when I'm not moving for a while, but this is understandable being they are not winter boots. I do most of my hiking in the winter months. I haven't had the chance to put a ton of miles on yet but i bet I have at least 20 on them. other than that they are really good boots.
Date published: 2017-10-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Want to love them I’ve had a few pair of Vasque before (Sundowner) and went with another brand for a few years. I was excited to come back and get these boots. I do a couple hundred miles a year with the Boy Scouts, and personal hiking. These boots fit great out of the box! I went with the wide version because of reviews I’ve read. I only have one complaint and that is the all to common review I’ve seen about pinched little toe. My right boot is fine, but my left boot digs into my little toe and is just too much after a couple miles. I really want to love these boots, but be cautious of the toe box for fit. There is no padding, or give and its just to much for me. I’m going to have to try something else unfortunately. 180$ down the tubes for me
Date published: 2017-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2nd Pair Ordered 2nd pair. Most comfortable boots that I have worn to date. I mainly use them for work. Put around 3-5 miles a day with these babies, and my feet are happy at the end of the day. For all my recreational needs they have never failed me and have withstood wet conditions well. Vasque customer for life!!!
Date published: 2017-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like Everyone LACES Yes the lace points cut right through the laces. They are also hard to lace up tight as the sharp edges keep the laces from sliding through the eyelets. I have to replace the laces after every couple of trips. It's not worth having them break in the back country. Seriously $200 and the laces fail every couple months. Other than that not a bad boot.
Date published: 2017-07-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like many others already said: The Laces! I bought these after trying them on at an EMS. I love them, they're comfortable, have a good tread, good support, thick sole without being too rigid - you can still get a feel for your footing, and they're definitely water proof. I've worn them backpacking, canoeing and snowshoeing. I've had them for 2.5 years and I've worn them on a few multi day trips a year. My first trip out this year the lace wrap shredded down to the inner cord which luckily held. But how annoying. I really hope I don't start going through laces like water. Get better lace hooks!!!!
Date published: 2017-06-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Breaks Shoe Laces I've had these boots for about 3 months now and have gone though 3 pairs of laces. I would expect a boot at this price not to do things like this. It's a comfortable boot as long as you have access to many shoe laces.
Date published: 2017-05-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great boots, laces The boots dose great trekking in Nepal, water, snow, rocks, sand. The boots are doing great job. The only problem is the laces. One of them the outer part of it got torn while climbing. It was pretty terrifying at first thinking the all of it will be torn a part while climbing. But the inner layer was strong. It is pretty inoying try to close your shoe lace. So I advice taking spare ones with you when trekking.
Date published: 2017-05-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cheap Hooks Kill This Boot The boot is great in many ways, but the lacing hooks bend and get caught on objects. They grow brittle once bent and are reminiscent of a box store purchase. I should have known better and bought lace-up from the floor up. They are rugged and durable in all other respects, but they are only a year old, so we'll see... They run thin so I got a wide.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Laces laces Great all around backpacking boots. Treated them w rain & snow and they are darn near waterproof. uT be sure and buy extra laces or some para-cord as the eyelets EAT laces like no other. You'd think product testing would have caught this but small price to pay for an otherwise good pair of boots I guess...
Date published: 2017-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots I've got a narrow foot, and after years of searching for and buying almost fits (everything comes in a wide but seldom a narrow) I came across these. Have had them 2 1/2 years and love them. Were them for work, hiking in the Rockies and for casual. The fit is great and they are comfortable. Except the soles, they show little wear and the stitching and seams are still strong, They cradle my foot and hold the arch. My feet don't ache after a 5-10 mile trek like they used to (no matter the terrain). The only thing I don't like - this boot comes in the Slate Brn/Belug and the Bungee Cord/Neutral, but only the slate comes in the Narrow width. I'm buying a second pair.
Date published: 2017-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boot ever Three continents, best boot ever. Dry yet breathable and excellent traction. I use the wide fitting and its perfect for me. I hope they keep making them!
Date published: 2017-01-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not right for me but nicely built My review shouldn't reflect on Vasque because everyones feet are different. I bought these coming from another brand that had no break in time. I saw them on OutdoorGearLab and they were the highest rated boot. They are nicely built but I instantly noticed the fit was odd. I usually wear a size 9.5 to 10 depending on the brand. The was too tight so I went with the 10W. They were pretty good in the store but were clearly going to need a lot of time to break in. Not being used to such a stiff boot I was slightly nervous about buying something that wasn't perfect out of the box. I bought them at Eastern Mountain Sports and I should've gone somewhere with a better return policy. After breaking them in for a couple of days it wasn't going well. I tried aftermarket footbeds and different lacing techniques. Some things worked better than others but nothing really worked well enough. The first set of lugs near the toes dig in to the top of my feet causing a lot of pain and my heel doesn't stay in place. I wish I knew they would stretch like they did because I'm sure another size would've worked for me. My recommendation is to buy these or any boots from a store with a return policy that lets you actually use them for their intended use before exchanging them. I'm out $200 now. I wish I went to a different store now so I could exchange these for another size or style but I'm stuck. Vasque is a highly respected brand and I was excited when I brought these home.
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm getting a new pair. I got my first pair spring of 2014. I have worn them on many hikes per month for three years. With the exception of one time stepping in a creek that was to deep my feet have always stayed dry. Very comfortable, long lasting. Among the best boots I have had.
Date published: 2016-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good fit on wide size Bought this shoe at REI. I wear a EEE shoe. I was surprised how well it fits. What I really like is that it opens wide for easy foot insertion. No need for a pull strap. Wore for a week right out of the box. Wish they came in steel toe for work. Hope they last for years..
Date published: 2016-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boot Just wore them for a 7 day trek on the West Coast Trail on Vancouver Island. Essentially rainforest, ocean and mountains. There was lots of mud. These boots were amazing. Great grip an many different types of surfaces, the wicking was great, my boots were a bit moist after an 8 hour hike through mud, etc (had gators on), but were great to hike the next day. One of the best pieces of equipment I bought.
Date published: 2016-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable while hiking, laces broke, twice. The boots are rugged and stand up well for full day hikes and bushwacking. Driving in them is uncomfortable as the toebox is too narrow for me, but I'm not bothered by it while actually hiking. My major complaint with these are the laces. Within a few uses the outer lace had completely ripped exposing the inner portion of the lace, making them impossible to tie. I have had to replace the laces twice in the year I've been using them.
Date published: 2016-09-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't last long It takes a good bit to break these boots in, but once that was done I absolutely loved them. they fit great, become insanely comfortable, and look really good with a pair of jeans around town sometimes too. Sadly, yesterday morning I was working in wet conditions, and sure enough, there was a hole in the gortex. So my entire ten hour shift my foot was soaking wet. Normally, I don't write reviews. Given I spent over $200 on these boots to avoid anything like this, I think I should have gotten more than 9 months out of them ( 5 of those months it was too hot to wear them!)
Date published: 2016-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keys to a good fit I have owned my boots for about a month now and put over 200 miles on them. I have to say they are very comfortable right from the start. I think they are great boots. Listed below are some keys to a good fit: • Buy the boot large 1/2 to 1 full size bigger • Use thicker socks • V-jam eyelets (3rd from top) are great ; they allow you to lock in the lower boot tightness independently from the top laces of the boot . You have infinite ways to adjust the fit accordingly. Remember to take of your boots and they will take care of you. Hope you enjoy your boots, they are definitely worth it.
Date published: 2016-09-10
  • y_2018, m_9, d_21, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_73
  • loc_en_US, sid_07162, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_vasque
Please enter a valid email address

Compatibility View

You are using a version of Internet Explorer whose Browser Mode and Document Mode are not allowing correct display. Please press your F12 key and set Browser Mode and Document mode to the highest versions available.

This site is not compatible with versions of Internet Explorer older than 8. Please update to a newer browser version or use an alternate web browser e.g. Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome.

×

Kids Footwear Size Comparison Chart For Most Common International Systems

  US EU UK CM
CHILDREN 10 27 9 16.5
  11 28 10 17
  12 30 11 18
  13 31 12 19
YOUTH 1 32 13 20
  2 33 1 20.5
  3 34 2 21
  4 35 3 22
  5 37 4 23
  6 38 5 24
×

Footwear Size Comparison Chart For Most Common International Systems

USA MEN'S USA WOMEN'S EUROPEAN BRITISH MEN'S cm WOMEN'S cm
  4 33.5 1.5   21
  4.5 34 2   21.5
3.5 5 34.5 2.5 21.5 22
4 5.5 35 3 22 22.5
4.5 6 36 3.5 22.5 23
5 6.5 37 4 23 23.5
5.5 7 37.5 4.5 23.5 24
6 7.5 38 5 24 24.5
6.5 8 38.5 5.5 24.5 25
7 8.5 39 6 25 25.5
7.5 9 40 6.5 25.5 26
8 9.5 41 7 26 26.5
8.5 10 41.5 7.5 26.5 27
9 10.5 42 8 27 27.5
9.5 11 42.5 8.5 27.5 28
10 12 43 9 28 28.5
10.5   43.5 9.5 28.5  
11   44 10 29  
11.5   45 10.5 29.5  
12   46 11 30  
13   47 12 31  
14   48 13 32  
15   49 14 33  
16   50 15 34  
×

WHERE TO BUY YOUR
St. Elias GTX

You can purchase this shoe by using one of the following options:

BUY ONLINE

Select your size and we'll let you know which websites have it in stock.


FIND A STORE

Please call ahead to see if your favorite style is available!

FIND A STORE
×